Please use this identifier to cite or link to this item:
Full metadata record
DC FieldValueLanguage
dc.contributor.authorConstantinides, Dinosen
dc.description.abstractSymphony No. 4 - Antigone is an orchestral suite derived from the opera Antigone and was completed in 1994. The composer began work on his three-act opera based on the play by Sophocles twenty years ago and completed it in 1989. It was premiered in 1993 by the Baton Rouge Opera. Since then he has written several orchestral suites derived from the opera. The opera is performed in three acts and follows the original story closely. The first act offers background information on the fight to the death between Antigone’s two brothers over the kingship of Thebes and Antigone’s plan to bury her brother Polyneices. The burial of her brother has been forbidden by the new king, her uncle Creon. The second act focuses on Antigone’s confrontation with Creon and the conflict between Creon and his son, Haimon. The final act centers on Creon’s realization that he has wronged Antigone and the tragic consequences of his rash actions.en
dc.format.extent143 filesen
dc.rightsDinos Constantinidesen
dc.titleSymphony No. 4: Antigone: for orchestraen
dc.typeMusical Scoreen
Appears in Collections:Dinos Constantinides (Works)

Files in This Item:
File Description SizeFormat 
Symphony No. 4 Score.pdf2.29 MBAdobe PDFView/Open
Parts.rar10.88 MBUnknownView/Open
Score.rar1.78 MBUnknownView/Open
Symphony No. 4 Complete Score (legal size).pdf2.17 MBAdobe PDFView/Open
Symphony No. 4 Cover.pdf78.31 kBAdobe PDFView/Open
Symphony No. 4 Parts (letter size).pdf6.09 MBAdobe PDFView/Open

Items in Psepheda are protected by copyright, with all rights reserved, unless otherwise indicated.