Please use this identifier to cite or link to this item:
Title: String Quartet No.1
Authors: Constantinides, Dinos
Keywords: LRC8
Issue Date: 1967
Abstract: String Quartet No. 1 (1967) is a serial work, like most of the composer’s compositions from this period. A figure of six notes pervades the first and third movements of the piece. The first movement is constructed in an imitative manner, ending on a rousing crescendo with superimposed ostinato patterns. The second movement is based on a four-note figure which outlines the interval of a major seventh and interweaves with the six-note figure of the first movement. The last movement is vivid and rhythmic, giving the motives of the first two movements a more energetic interpretation. The piece comes to a rousing close similar to that of the first movement.
Rights: Dinos Constantinides
Appears in Collections:Dinos Constantinides (Works)

Items in Psepheda are protected by copyright, with all rights reserved, unless otherwise indicated.