Please use this identifier to cite or link to this item:
Title: China II - Beijing for string orchestra
Authors: Constantinides, Dinos
Keywords: LRC127
Issue Date: 1990
Abstract: China II - Beijing (1990), written for string orchestra, is the second work of a cycle called the China Quartet. In this work, the composer tries to portray an overview of the long and impressive history of China in the manner of a legend. The work opens with quiet entries over a pedal tone on “A”. A set of harmonics brings memories of past stories. High dynamic levels and quick tempos illustrate the struggles of the people over the centuries. Various images appear in successive climaxes leading to a free section which is the apotheosis of string sound. A return to the opening pedal tone “A” brings the piece to a close.
Rights: Dinos Constantinides
Appears in Collections:Dinos Constantinides (Works)

Files in This Item:
File Description SizeFormat 
Parts.rar540.9 kBUnknownView/Open
China II Cover.pdf78.19 kBAdobe PDFView/Open
China II Score and Parts.pdf1.05 MBAdobe PDFView/Open
China II Score.pdf344.26 kBAdobe PDFView/Open

Items in Psepheda are protected by copyright, with all rights reserved, unless otherwise indicated.