Please use this identifier to cite or link to this item:
Title: Transformations for soprano saxophone and chamber orchestra
Authors: Constantinides, Dinos
Keywords: LRC126e
Issue Date: 2011
Abstract: Transformations was written in three versions: (1) Transformations for saxophone alone (1990); (2) Transformations for saxophone and piano (2011); and (3) the piece presented here for saxophone and chamber orchestra (2011). The saxophone part is basically the same for all three versions. The work is based upon personal experiences and associations of the composer. In all versions, the entire composition is a constant transformation of a single motive that the composer remembers from his youth when he did some work as a violinist for the Greek Cinema. Divided into four parts, the piece portrays four different scenes of simple everyday happenings. The music of Dinos Constantinides has been performed throughout the world. He is the recipient of many grants, commissions and awards, including first prize in the Brooklyn College International Chamber Opera Competition, the First Midwest Chamber Opera Conference, and the Delius Composition Contest. He also received the American New Music Consortium Distinguished Service Award, the Glen Award of l’Ensemble of New York, several Meet the Composer grants, numerous ASCAP Standard Awards, and he was honored with a Distinguished Teacher White House Commission on Presidential Scholars.
Rights: Dinos Constantinides
Appears in Collections:Dinos Constantinides (Works)

Files in This Item:
File Description SizeFormat 
Transformations Score.pdf2 MBAdobe PDFView/Open
Parts.rar4.05 MBUnknownView/Open
Transformations Cover.pdf103.12 kBAdobe PDFView/Open
Transformations Parts.pdf6.07 MBAdobe PDFView/Open
Transformations Score and Parts.pdf8.92 MBAdobe PDFView/Open

Items in Psepheda are protected by copyright, with all rights reserved, unless otherwise indicated.