Please use this identifier to cite or link to this item:
Title: Transformations for clarinet alone
Authors: Constantinides, Dinos
Keywords: LRC126b
Issue Date: 1996
Abstract: Transformations was written in three versions: (1) the piece presented here for clarinet alone (1990); (2) a piece for clarinet and chamber orchestra (1990) [CP#199]; and (3) a piece for clarinet and piano (1993) [CP#132]. The clarinet part is basically the same for all three versions. The work is based upon personal experiences and associations of the composer. In all versions, the entire composition is a constant transformation of a single motive that the composer remembers from his youth when he did some work as a violinist for the Greek Cinema. Divided into four parts, the piece portrays four different scenes of simple everyday happenings. The music of Dinos Constantinides has been performed throughout the world. He is the recipient of many grants, commissions and awards, including first prize in the Brooklyn College International Chamber Opera Competition, the First Midwest Chamber Opera Conference, and the Delius Composition Contest. He also received the American New Music Consortium Distinguished Service Award, the Glen Award of l’Ensemble of New York, several Meet the Composer grants, numerous ASCAP Standard Awards, and he was honored with a Distinguished Teacher White House Commission on Presidential Scholars.
Rights: Dinos Constantinides
Appears in Collections:Dinos Constantinides (Works)

Files in This Item:
File Description SizeFormat 
Transformations-cl. alone cover.pdf105.46 kBAdobe PDFView/Open
Movements.rar328.24 kBUnknownView/Open
Transformations Complete Score.pdf475.05 kBAdobe PDFView/Open

Items in Psepheda are protected by copyright, with all rights reserved, unless otherwise indicated.