Please use this identifier to cite or link to this item:
Full metadata record
DC FieldValueLanguage
dc.contributor.authorConstantinides, Dinosen
dc.description.abstractOktagonon was written to accommodate the unusual instrumentation of the LSU New Music Ensemble, which consisted of three clarinets, three percussionists, piano, guitar, trumpet, viola, bassoon and tuba. The title Oktagonon is a Greek word meaning “eight angles.” Here it refers to the three octatonic scales which are used in this composition. A free section performed mainly by the three clarinets and the bassoons acts as a ritornello idea that controls the form of the piece. It is followed by rhythmic sections leading to a modal melody. This melody keeps repeating itself by adding instruments and therefore increasing its density. This leads to the climax of the piece just before the final note. The composer had in his mind the Bolero by Ravel.en
dc.format.extent3 filesen
dc.rightsDinos Constantinidesen
dc.typeMusical Scoreen
Appears in Collections:Dinos Constantinides (Works)

Files in This Item:
File Description SizeFormat 
Oktagonon Complete Score.pdf254.49 kBAdobe PDFView/Open
Oktagonon Cover.pdf66.06 kBAdobe PDFView/Open
Oktagonon Score.pdf191.51 kBAdobe PDFView/Open

Items in Psepheda are protected by copyright, with all rights reserved, unless otherwise indicated.