Please use this identifier to cite or link to this item:
Title: Concerto for Saxophone: quartet and chamber orchestra
Authors: Constantinides, Dinos
Keywords: LRC178b
Issue Date: 1999
Abstract: Music for Saxophone Quartet is a fun piece. It denotes the thoughts of two individuals expressed in many ways in a conversational format. As the titles of the four movements of the work indicate, the conversation appears sometimes as a monologue, a dialogue, beginning or an ending. Throughout the piece intervalic relationships control the various happening. Sonorities based on seconds and thirds highlight the harmonic progressions which influence the direction of the music. Stylistic quotations ornamented by sound effects are also important.
Description: This piece was commissioned by the Athens Saxophone Quartet, who premiered it on April 30, 1999, in Athens, Greece.
Rights: Dinos Constantinides
Appears in Collections:Dinos Constantinides (Works)

Items in Psepheda are protected by copyright, with all rights reserved, unless otherwise indicated.