Please use this identifier to cite or link to this item:
Title: Lament of Eurydice from the opera Antigone: piano version
Authors: Constantinides, Dinos
Keywords: LRC109bb
Issue Date: 1990
Abstract: The composer began work of his three-act opera Antigone, based on the play by Sophocles, twenty years ago and completed it in 1989. It was premiered in 1993 by the Baton Rouge Opera. The opera is performed in three acts and follows the original story closely. The first act offers background information on the fight to the death between Antigone’s two brothers over the kingship of Thebes and Antigone’s plan to bury her brother Polyneices. The burial of her brother has been forbidden by the new king, her uncle Creon. The second act focuses on Antigone’s confrontation with Creon and the conflict between Creon and his son, Haimon. The final act centers on Creon’s realization that he has wronged Antigone and the tragic consequences of his rash actions. The Lament of Eurydice is from the third act of the opera Antigone.
Rights: Dinos Constantinides
Appears in Collections:Dinos Constantinides (Works)

Files in This Item:
File Description SizeFormat 
Eurydice Complete.pdf194.89 kBAdobe PDFView/Open
Eurydice cover.pdf71.19 kBAdobe PDFView/Open
Eurydice Score.pdf127.57 kBAdobe PDFView/Open

Items in Psepheda are protected by copyright, with all rights reserved, unless otherwise indicated.