Please use this identifier to cite or link to this item:
Title: Concerto of Psalms for violin, alto saxophone and orchestra
Authors: Constantinides, Dinos
Keywords: LRC185c
Issue Date: 1999
Abstract: The first version of the Concerto of Psalms, for violin and clarinet, was commissioned by Elsa and Walter Verdehr, professors at Michigan State University and members of the famed Verdehr Trio. The work has been inspired by three Psalms: No.19, 130 and 150 respectively. The entire composition is controlled by a series of vertical sonorities which appear in various transpositions and instrumental combinations throughout the work. The first movement is rhapsodic in character and utilizes a great deal of instrumental colors. A haunting opening leads to a quasi religious modal chant in the solo clarinet. It is followed by a restless middle section and it returns to its initial meditative mood. The second movement begins with quotations of Mozart works leading to a very lyrical celestial tune sung by both solo instruments. The Finale is an exuberant, happy work, full of rhythms and intricate solo passages for the soloists. In the middle of the piece a returning quasi passacaglia section contrasts with the dance-like opening and leads to the modal chant of the first movement along with an eastern-like tune, ending in a frenzied conclusion. This version for violin, E flat saxophone, and orchestra, was requested by the saxophone virtuoso Stathis Mavrommatis and it is written for him.
Rights: Dinos Constantinides
Appears in Collections:Dinos Constantinides (Works)

Files in This Item:
File Description SizeFormat 
Single Parts.rar3.55 MBUnknownView/Open
Concerto of Psalms Cover.pdf72.88 kBAdobe PDFView/Open
Concerto of Psalms Parts.pdf4.3 MBAdobe PDFView/Open
Concerto of Psalms Score and Parts.pdf6.16 MBAdobe PDFView/Open
Concerto of Psalms Score.pdf1.61 MBAdobe PDFView/Open
Movements.rar1.22 MBUnknownView/Open

Items in Psepheda are protected by copyright, with all rights reserved, unless otherwise indicated.