Please use this identifier to cite or link to this item:
Title: Concerto for Violin, Cello, Piano and Orchestra
Other Titles: Triple Concerto
Authors: Constantinides, Dinos
Keywords: LRC7
Issue Date: 1967
Abstract: Concerto for Violin, Violoncello, Piano, and Orchestra is the composer’s doctoral dissertation. This composition was originally projected as a unified work with no pauses between movements; but tradition, along with greater ease of comprehension, seemed to indicate the advantage of separating the movements. Serial techniques are used, with two rows used throughout. The rows have a definite relationship, although the second row is of subordinate importance. The formal structures used are rather traditional. The first movement, Allegro moderato, has a modified sonata-allegro form with double exposition. Ostinato and rhythmic figures lead to the climax of this movement. The second movement, Largo, has a very transparent texture, and an ABA formal design. The closing Allegro vivo employs very vivid, rhythmic, virtuoso passages. Thematic material recalled from the first movement contributes to the felling of the work as a whole as cyclic.
Rights: Dinos Constantinides
Appears in Collections:Dinos Constantinides (Works)

Items in Psepheda are protected by copyright, with all rights reserved, unless otherwise indicated.