Please use this identifier to cite or link to this item:
Title: China IV - Shenzhen, Concerto for Cello and Piano
Authors: Constantinides, Dinos
Keywords: LRC139c
Issue Date: 1992
Abstract: China IV - Shenzhen (1992) is the fourth work of a cycle called the China Quartet. Like the three previous works, China IV does not use Chinese scales or motives, but rather projects the composer’s perception of the city and people. Unlike the other three cities-Shanghai, Beijing, and Guangzhou-Shenzhen is a new westernized city next to Hong Kong. Not only the city itself, but the behavior of the people, reminded the composer of westerners. The concerto was composed with the western flavor of Shenzhen in mind. It uses elements of western roots in the music, like Shenzhen uses western roots in its way of life. In addition, the composer wanted to employ ideas basic to the literature of solo cello, including those derived from the unaccompanied sonatas for solo cello by Bach and the long phrases abundant in cello concertos by Schumann, Dvorak, and Saint-Saens. This concerto is dedicated to Ning Tien.
Rights: Dinos Constantinides
Appears in Collections:Dinos Constantinides (Works)

Files in This Item:
File Description SizeFormat 
Parts.rar281.2 kBUnknownView/Open
Cello Concerto - Cover.pdf60.87 kBAdobe PDFView/Open
Cello Concerto, piano version - score and part.pdf1.12 MBAdobe PDFView/Open
Movements.rar657.96 kBUnknownView/Open

Items in Psepheda are protected by copyright, with all rights reserved, unless otherwise indicated.